Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Chiliwailer
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

28 Oct 2023, 9:25 am

Hi folks, newbie here.

Diagnosed last week - which I see as positive. Though I’m also occasionally feeling imposter syndrome which is odd as my assessment report makes sense to my wife and I. I suppose it’s just my adjustment after 45 years, that’s all.

I finally realised why I was, as I had called it, ‘outer circle’ or an ‘actor’ in most situations when I coincidentally did an autism Masters degree in 2017-20 because a Director at work recommended me for it. I also now realise much of my burnout isn’t just because of a chronic pain condition I have, and parts of the condition may be linked to my neurodivergence too.

I learned so much about autism in my degree, and got Distinction, yet feel like I’m discovering it again in a new way by applying it to myself now I know for sure - which isn’t easy as recognising myself internally can be a struggle. But I’m positive and excited to apply this new lens now I know for sure I’m on the spectrum.

I work in social care with people who have a learning disability and are on the spectrum. I feel comfortable for my diagnosis to be known at work, but I am cautious out of work due to the ignorance of others, and really the energy needed to talk about it when people are judging or suspicious. But I’ll be fine if they are open minded. I see there’s no rush and I’ll take my time, case by case.

Anyway, very nice to be here :D :heart:

NowWhatDoIDo
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

28 Oct 2023, 11:28 am

Hi and welcome. I'm also new here, and about to get my assessment.

BTDT
Veteran
Veteran

28 Oct 2023, 11:38 am

Welcome!

Yes, it can be hard to deal with folks who try to deny your diagnosis!

But, knowing can help you recognize bad situations or issues.

I realized I needed to do something about very loud movies, so I bought high fidelity earplugs to bring to theaters.

Chiliwailer
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse