What’s your favourite sensory/fidget item?

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

DirkGently69
Veteran
Veteran

01 Nov 2023, 7:59 pm

I’m fairly new to sensory and fidget toys, so I thought I would ask everybody what sort of weird and wonderful things there are out there that help you.

At the moment I just have a blue/purple galaxy spinner which I like a lot. It helps me when I’m feeling anxious and when I feel like I’m going to start ruminating. I also bought a little cube that has various things on each side, but it’s bulky, so I don’t take it outside.

Comet Zed
Veteran
Veteran

01 Nov 2023, 9:03 pm

I have a metal cube spinner and a couple of random things like a short bolt and screw, but I tend to really use whatever is around me (pens, glasses, keys), or failing that my top lip.

colliegrace
Veteran
Veteran

01 Nov 2023, 10:09 pm

Fidget cube and "game pad" are two of my favorites.

I also love my fidget slug. And textured tangles seem like they'd be nice too. (I only have a regular tangle.) I love pop-its.

Also diagnosed with: seasonal depression, anxiety, OCD

jamie0.0
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

01 Nov 2023, 10:15 pm

I love cigarette lighters even though I do not smoke. Bic ones specifically

I usually just play with it absent mindedly when in a heavy social situation like a bus or the rare time I go to a party

I can either spin it like a spinner, play with the metal spark thing (don't know what it is called) or just simply push the gas button and hear it whisper

I also have a plain black spinner but I don't use it much as I find it draws too much attention

As a kid i had a finger skateboard that i could roll arround and do tricks with. Haven't used it in a while but it's still there.

The biggest issue I find, is being able to fidget without looking anxious, because people knowing that I'm anxious makes me more anxious if that makes sense. I usually tell people that I like to keep my hands busy, which i think is a normal thing to do.