Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

calciume
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

06 Nov 2023, 10:17 pm

Hi all,
My name is Cal, I'm 19 and I've never posted to a traditional forum before but I've always been interested in them. I think I may be a good bit younger than most of the people that reside here. For my entire life I've been obsessed with computers and more recently, Linux and online privacy and online security. I'm in my first year of college, entirely overwhelmed and stressed out. I'm posting this introduction totally not as a form of procrastination. I haven't done too much lurking on this forum before making my account so I'll be waiting not so patiently for replies lol. I learned about this forum ironically enough, from /r/aspergers on reddit and have been curious about this place ever sense. I'm glad to be here and I'm excited to meet you all :heart:

jimmy m
Veteran
Veteran

07 Nov 2023, 10:29 am

Interesting. Strange introduction. It seems like you read a little bit about Asperger's Syndrome and arrived at the conclusion that you may be one of us. One thing about Aspies, we tend to become subject matter experts. We latch onto something and dive very deep into the subject then the normal NT. Many of us develop very high IQs as a result. Many of us develop a strong ability in using computers, we can become computer experts.

There are on line tests available that can provide you a fairly accurate assessment. Have you taken any of these and how did you score?

You wrote, "I'm in my first year of college, entirely overwhelmed and stressed out."
That sounds normal. Many times exercise can help minimize the effects of stress overload. But many times it needs to be an extreme form of exercise in order to vent stress.