Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Iris.Ell
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

10 Feb 2024, 2:42 pm

Hello!
I am very new here..

I am very recently self diagnosed.. I have had support in my diagnosis from a clinical psychologist .. I am a psychologist myself, but have been unable to figure it out and also I had been convinced that I have borderline disorder. Now I have put the pieces together and can understand why I feel like an alien (actually my dad calls me an alien :roll: :roll: )

However, I want to share something, a feeling that I am struggling with and I would like to ask if you can relate at all. When I developed extreme dissociation to cope with stress, twenty years ago, I had no idea that I had autism.. I started thinking that its necessary to do some identity / character scripting, to find out who I was and how to behave. For example I would try to figure out who am I (based on my preferences, values and likes/dislikes) and how I can behave to be liked. So, a lot of times I would visualise a face with a particular set of characteristics and personality, thinking that that could be me, and try to mimic that out and see how it feels . I would figure out responses, and behaviors or even energies and how that persona is controlled by the environment, how behaves and what makes it special. I would even dress differently depending on what persona I felt that I should be. But the worse is - that I would be very confused by all the different combinations, all the different possible "right" answers and "right" behaviors and reactions.

That is where I struggle as the combinations and energies are endless.. In the end that mas made the dissociation even worse.

Has anybody suffered from something similar?Or am I just going crazy? :oops:

autisticelders
Veteran
Veteran

10 Feb 2024, 5:06 pm