I am surprised I have not been fired from my job

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Mw99
Veteran
Veteran

14 Sep 2007, 9:44 pm

I graduated from college with good grades, spent a year unemployed, and after a lot of failed interviews and humiliations I eventually found a job at a company where I currently work as a low level programmer.

My job is tedious, boring and repetitive. I have a hard time memorizing simple troubleshooting techniques and I'm constantly asking my coworkers for help. My coworkers constantly tell me that I ask them the same questions all the time. They explain me how to do something, but then I forget and a week later I'm again asking them the same questions.

I feel constantly stressed. I have very hard time concentrating. I have a hard time making sense of written instructions. I have a hard time understanding what people tell me. Sometimes I just stare at my monitor while my mind is gone. Sometimes I fiddle around with paper clips instead of doing work. Some people at the office are not as friendly as they used to be when they first met me. I am incompetent at my job and I constantly wait for the day I'll get fired. No wonder I also feel anxious and depressed.

Perhaps it's time to find a new job, but with my interviewing skills, I can't ask expect a job much "better" than the one I currently have. I very much wish I could snap out of this hell because otherwise I don't know how I'm going to end up.

Can someone identify? Does anyone have suggestions for me?

LabPet
Veteran
Veteran

14 Sep 2007, 9:59 pm