Arguement with husband.....is Aspie aware of his tics

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

whateveryousay2007
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

17 Dec 2007, 10:18 am

I spent the entire weekend arguing with the hubby to leave the little one alone. That he can't help the fact that he makes noises all the time.

They aren't loud but he grunts (like he's clearing his throat) or hums to himself quite a bit. Hubby gets mad and tells him to stop but the little one ends up getting mad and yelling back saying that he's not doing it.

Granted I'm relatively new to the whole autism dx and feel that I'm patient and understanding that there are many things he can't control and I don't let anything he does get to me.

(Behavior....I've been told by people in public that children shouldn't act that way.....BUTT OUT!! !! He has autism for christ sakes....but that's another story)

So....to ponder the question.....I've been researching and trying to understand as much as possible about my son and his "tics".

Is it possible that he's not aware that he's making these noises and husband should just accept it and ignore it?

sinagua
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

17 Dec 2007, 11:23 am

Didn't mean to be the first to reply here, and I'm sure others will have different responses but most likely, no, your son either doesn't know he's making these noises, or he does know he's making them but it's involuntary or it's "stimming" behavior and he really can't help it.

Either way, I humbly suggest your husband back off and give the kid a break. If this behavior is upsetting him this much, he's in for a world of frustration, because it's actually one of the least annoying things kids can do that I can think of, potentially.