Have you ever COMPLETELY misjudged a persons age?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Ouelis
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

04 Feb 2008, 5:33 pm

Let me start out by saying that I withhold that I'm a pretty good guesser for some unknown reason. Just luck I guess. That doesn't really have much to do with this but anyway.

Last summer I worked as a cleaner at a hospital along with several other temps. Some of them quit over the course of the summer but I held in there as well as I could(although the whole affair made me have a gigantic meltdown and resulted in my diagnosis) and got through it. Now, whenever I had a break I would go off to spend some alone time instead of sitting and making dull small talk with the rest of the workers in the break room which meant that I never really got to know any of the other workers. But one of my female co-workers caught my eye, not like an attraction but rather a sort of curiousness(but I won't deny that she was very cute). Whenever I would run in to her I would try to exchange a few words just so that I could get to know her a little. One day, we got off at the same time and walked out of the building together, like we had done a couple of times before. Then she asked me how old I was. I can't really say why, but she did. I told her that I was 19 and asked in return how old she was.

29. It was if I could actually hear my jaw hitting the pavement.

She was ten years older than me yet she didn't look a day over 20! I just couldn't get over it. I can't really recall how the rest of the conversation went but I remember how I just expressed my astonishment over it. Has this kind of thing ever happened to anybody else?

zee
Veteran
Veteran

04 Feb 2008, 5:42 pm

All the time. Only yesterday I was shocked when this woman I was working with introduced me to her teenaged daughter. I had though she was in her 20's, but she was 32. :o
Maybe it's because we don't study people's faces?

hartzofspace
Supporting Member
Supporting Member