Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Chimchar
Toucan
Toucan

19 Feb 2008, 11:21 am

I just found out that scientists are determined to look for a cure for autism. But the Aspies seem to have a problem with this cure. They say that we don't need a cure, why is that? Are they happy being Aspie? I'm an Asperger's and for some reason I'm not proud of it.

What's wrong with curing it? If you guys think we shouldn't find a cure for Asperger's or high functioning autism. Why don't we find a cure for the ones who are low functioning?

What's the deal with this issue? I'm new to researching the disorder, so please don't be offended.

CockneyRebel
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2008, 11:32 am

It's because I don't wish to be cured. If I was cured, I'd become the thing that I fear the most, which is NT. Most of the NTs that I went to school with, were snobs, and they hated my guts, just because I was different. Why would I want to be like them? I also wish not to take the cure, because I'm not defective. You can't fix something that's not broken. You also can't cure something that's not a disease. Another reason that I'm against a cure, is because if it comes into effect, than we would all be forced to take the cure, and especially if bosses were to hire us, and they told us that we has to accept a cure for our AS or HFA. I'm very against that type of thinking. If you want to get yourself cured, go for it. I'm not going to stop you. It's my personal choice, not to be cured.

Last edited by CockneyRebel on 19 Feb 2008, 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

criss
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2008, 11:33 am

others would be more help than me on this.

It is a hot hot hot potato this one.

Personally I would not mind my OCD TS Anxiety and all the like cured, tommorow, but I love being the different person I am.

"We are here on earth for a little space to learn to bear the beams of love." (William Blake)