Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

02 Nov 2005, 1:38 am

Hi Im new to this,I am the mother of a 16yo with aspergers. I was reading some of the posts and I am seeing my son. Trying to fit in to high school wanting to bea normal teenager, and girls are ok friends only because rejection is way to overwhelming. Life in my house is never boring things are always a crisis where hes concerned. I was wondering if any one has any suggestions to the anger these kids feel and any coping that could be tried. we do counsling and special ed, but people dont want to assist with these kids (because its not a serious problem) spoken by someone who dosnt love an aspie person. One more thing I have a younger son and he adores his older brother and trys to be like him, how do you explain that his brother marches to the beat of a different drummer???? Any way just wanted to say hello and thank you for being there :D

vetivert
Veteran
Veteran

02 Nov 2005, 2:31 am

welcome to wrongplanet, g-man's mum. :)

there are many people on here who can offer advice, and many threads where there's useful information - i'm sure you'll find something which is helpful.

Vivi
(as Mod)

WooYayHooplah
Veteran
Veteran

02 Nov 2005, 6:09 am

Most young kids look up to their older brothers... Just because he is different it doesn't matter. Be happy that your youngest looks up to his brother rather than hates him :)

jbrawn26
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

02 Nov 2005, 6:44 pm

my younger son also looks up to his big brother Zachary ( my child with asperger's ) is 9 and his brother is 4 1/2 we also have one on the way! In some ways it's really nice to have him look up to his older brother but it can get very difficult at times too especially in situations like when Zachary is getting overstimulated in a store and starts acting wildly and Devin wants to act just like him :) nevertheless we have baby #3 on the way!

ster
Veteran
Veteran

02 Nov 2005, 10:25 pm