Mom of 19 year old Aspie new to WrongPlanet

Page 1 of 3 [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

MOA
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

30 Nov 2008, 2:05 pm

Hi, I am an elementary teacher who has an Aspie son and who has taught ASD students in "regular" classes through the years. I'm interested in better understanding adult Aspies since my experience mainly has been with children and teens. My son is a reader and writer and loves to reenact favorite book and movie scenes and create games from them. He graduated from high school in June 2008, but his care team and he have not found competitive employment to be appropriate for him at this time.

My favorite story that illustrates his "Aspie-ism" (is that even a word?) follows:
When Matt was five we enrolled him in an art camp to help with his fine motor skills and because he liked art--his grandmother and great-grandmother were both artists.

At the end of the first week I waited with the other parents (mostly moms) as the children filed out the door with their wooden sculpture made from scraps of wood, glue, and paint. The kids eagerly showed off their work making comments such as "see, it's a kitty" or "look at my giraffe." It was easy to tell what they'd made since the colors were predictable and the shapes familiar.

When Matt came out, he held a sculpture of unknown origin. It was painted with dark mottled colors and had some type of black pictures that looked like blurred hieroglyphics scratched on parts of it. The other mothers looked at his work and cast their eyes down with pity.

A knife pierced my aching heart for a second, hurting for my child, and, truth be known, for myself, too. Then he proudly said, "Look, Mom! It's an Egyptian temple and it even has a removable sarcaphagus, see?" as he removed a little wooden rectangular prism from it. "And see, it has [birds] --(he told me what kind)--guarding the body!"