I love my significant other, I know I do, but then..........

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

JMT1991
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

24 Dec 2008, 5:24 am

Hey, I'm new to wrongplanet, and all signs point to Aspie in my case.

I need help with handling situations with my significant other (bf), and also wanted to know if some of these are completely normal for aspie's when they are interacting with a NT in general (because my bf is one). I care so much about him but we get to fighting and sometimes I can't take it, but I would never leave someone like him over that.

Here are some situations I have been in that we have problems with:
*He says I'm trying to start a fight, when I'm simply stating my opinion, or when I go to back up what I say, even when it's in a completely light tone (to me), he thinks I'm trying to turn it into something more. I just personally like to state something, hear what they have to say, and then back up why I said what I said (it's often a case of who's right or wrong). So he starts a fight because he yells at me for starting a fight (make any sense?, not to me, but it happens all the time)

*Things I do in a fight he doesn't get: I don't look at him. I sit a corner (of the sofa, or the bed, or slide over in my seat, where ever we are) and stare off to another corner, sometimes rocking back and forth a bit, if fighting gets worse. I listen and take in what he says to me when I get like this, but he claims I'm not. I tell him I am, and he doesn't believe me. Also, he says my voice gets kinda monotone when I get like that, and I think I realize this, but can't stop/ change any of it, and this mood or whatever it is lasts for a little while even after the fight is over.