One aspect of conversation I don't understand

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Tolian
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

06 Jan 2006, 5:43 am

This is probably a typical aspie question. Should I use a person's name in a conversation. For example, someone said to me; "That looks interesting, Ian."

Now if I was making that statement I would say; "That looks interesting." And wouldn't consider using their name. I've recently realised I've never done this before, but have noted several occaisions where people who already know that they know each other's names where they addressed each other anyway.

Why did that person use my name? I felt slightly good about the fact that my name was used in the conversation. And I pondered if that was that the purpose of the person using it.

Wait, never mind.

Cade
Veteran
Veteran

06 Jan 2006, 6:14 am

I am really, really bad about not introducing myself, or listening to a person when they say their name. So I'm carrying on conversations all the time where I don't know the person's name and they don't know mine. I often have to say at the end of a conversation, "Oh, by the way, I'm Cade" or "I'm sorry, what's you're name again?"

I don't often use a person's name in conversation. I don't think it's a big deal. I think it boils down to persoanl style. Some people seem to just prefer doing it. I have an OCD friend who's like that all the time. He will end or begin a lot of his comments with your name. He's always, "Now, Cade, I was thinking..." or something like that. It's just how he is, and I'm just the opposite.

Neuroman
Veteran
Veteran

06 Jan 2006, 7:28 am